Stanley Cavell's "The Claim of Reason"

A Conference at the University of Leipzig, 7-9 November, 2019
In celebration of the 40th anniversary of the publication of Stanley Cavell’s masterwork The Claim of Reason, this conference will be devoted to an exploration of its central topics: criteria, the relation between skeptical and ordinary doubt, agreement in judgment and language, speaking inside and outside language games, the distinction between specific and generic objects, the relation between meaning and use, our knowledge of the external world, our knowledge of other minds, the asymmetry between external-world and other-minds skepticisms, the concept of a non-claim context, the distinction between knowledge and acknowledgment, the place of knowledge in the articulation of the concept of morality, and, finally, the relation between literary form and philosophical content. The conference will also explore Cavell’s relations to and discussions of the three philosophers who most centrally influenced that book: Ludwig Wittgenstein, J. L. Austin and Thompson Clarke.




  • Avner Baz (Tufts University)
  • Piergiorgio Donatelli (Sapienza University of Rome)
  • Paul Franks (Yale University)
  • Eli Friedlander (Tel Aviv University)
  • Martin Gustafsson (Åbo Akademi)
  • Arata Hamawaki (Auburn University)
  • Andrea Kern (University of Leipzig)
  • Sandra Laugier (Panthéon-Sorbonne University)
  • Jean-Philippe Narboux (Bordeaux Montaigne University)


  • Amichai Amit (Tel Aviv University)
  • Maria Balaska (University of Hertfordshire)
  • Niklas Forsberg (University of Pardubice)
  • Nora Hämäläinen (University of Pardubice)
  • Christian Martin (University of Leipzig)
  • Gilad Nir (University of Leipzig)
  • Anne-Marie Søndergaard Christensen (University of Southern Denmark)
  • David Wellbery (University of Chicago)


7-9 November, 2019


johannes.sudau [at]

Conference Sponsors: